Relief Printing

This week I’ve been printing up a storm at the BYU print facilities.  It’s been great having this type of access.  Most of the students are now on finals so the print room is relatively quiet which allows for me to spread out and really have a play.

I’m working with one rectangular block and 5-6 smaller cut out shapes.  This selection of plates has enabled me to produce endless possible print outcomes.  As I mentioned earlier I am not so much here to ‘edition’ but rather to experiment and play with different print combinations.

Yesterday Matt and I began with the first two layers.  I started out with a creamy transparent layer with the intention that over time layers of different colours will be added.  Depending on the way I lay my paper down on the actual print block I eventually end up with patterns and shapes that are each very different.

Matt is kindly assisting me with the rolling up of the plates and also showing me his own techniques for registration.  I like his idea of using a matt board to place the original shape – I’m going to use this again for the future!  It also works so well because it’s just slightly lower in height of the actual linoleum.

Tomorrow I will add 2 to 3 more colours.  Some prints are already resolved and quite often the hardest part is knowing when to leave a print as ‘finished’ or keep going.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Relief Printing

  1. Rachelle says:

    This is incredible. Wow. I’m loving the new feel. Of course your signature work is present but there are new . Its so exciting. I can’t wait to see the resolved prints. 😉

    • dagmar dyck says:

      Thanks ‘Chelle – yes I’ve certainly enjoyed every moment in the print studio – I’m thinking these linocuts really work for me and my approach to art making. The freedom and experimentation has been so refreshing. I feel like a student again 🙂 Thanks again for your continued support….x

  2. Rachelle says:

    sorry, let me amend my typo.
    there’s a ‘newness’. great to see u inking up again. 😉

  3. TonganMADE says:

    Beautiful print! good luck on your endeavours Hema

  4. Emily says:

    I am an art history student at BYU and I have read about and studied your artwork — I even presented on your artwork to my Tongan class for a cultural project. You are one of my favorite contemporary artists. I just found your blog today and am so sad that I didn’t know you were at BYU just last week! I would have loved to meet you!

Leave a Reply

